And This Is Why I’m Not On Twitter

Overpass Panorama 1

 

And this is why I’m not on Twitter.

See that panorama?  I love it.  I want to do more.  I’m out shooting every day trying to figure out what would make a decent panorama shot.  Yes, it’s a phase, it’s probably a phase that a lot of photographers go through.  This is my time to go through a panorama phase.

The thing is, it takes a bit of time to put that together.  Ok, that’s not exactly true.  It takes Photoshop’s panorama feature a bit of time to put that together.  But still, the trimming, the tweaking, the editing, it’s all about time.

I wish I could spend many more hours editing photographs.  But, I have a full time job. I also have a wife, two teenagers, and other responsibilities.  Plus, on top of everything else, I don’t have a smart phone.  It’s true. My phone is pretty dumb, actually.  It doesn’t even have a stopwatch feature.  Truth.  What kind of crappy phone, here in two thousand and friggin’ thirteen, doesn’t have a stopwatch feature?  It’s pathetic.

What I’m saying is this.  I’m really excited about how Generator Photography has kicked off, and I’m thankful for all the support I’ve already been shown.  I will continue to try to kick this up the next level, then the next level, as much as it takes to get my vision and my passion out there.  I’ve got the drive.

What I don’t have a lot of is time.  So, I need to use what I do have with much care.

So, this is why I’m not on twitter.  I know I should be.  It seems like a no-brainer when thinking about self-promotion.

I’ve already got my facebook page, and I’m more than happy about how that is progressing.  And I’ve got this blog.  I have a lot of things I want to say here, but finding the time for writing and refining my ideas is proving to be a bit of a struggle.

All of this, without even talking about trying to generate, edit and post new content.

Then, I think about having to think up tweets?  Or engage in a dialogue with my twitter followers.  Then there is trying to search out other people on twitter, and trying to read all their tweets, trying to engage in their dialogue.  I’m exhausted just writing about it.

So, here we are.  Facebook, blog, my website and the business cards I have on order.  That’s my marketing plan for right now.  It’s not perfect, it’s not complete by a long shot, but it’s the best I can do with what I have at this time.  And I know that good stuff is coming.

Bottom line is this: see that shot at the very top?  Ultimately, that’s what I want to speak for me.

And the truth is, pictures like that are worth a thousand words, which is far more expressive than 140 characters.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

