Self-Portraits

Self Portrait Looking Into The Sun

I really enjoy doing self-portraits.  Frida Kahlo said, “I paint self-portraits because I am so often alone, because I am the person I know best.”

Self Portrait In Knick Knack Display Case

IMGP3648

Self Portrait With Comic GlassesSelf Portrait In Security Mirror

 

I love how any self-portrait you do reveals different things about yourself.  Every choice you make, how you place yourself in the frame, what you choose for your surroundings, how you make yourself look better or worse, they all play a part in you speaking about yourself.

And it’s always fascinating to keep coming back to yourself, either from seeing how you have interpreted yourself in the past, and then how you see yourself in the now.  Being able to see what has changed, and what remains constant.

What brings this up is that I saw the photography blog Lenscratch has just posted three outstanding collections of self-portraits.  Truly amazing stuff, I don’t think there is a false note in any of these.

LENSCRATCH 2013 Self-Portrait Exhibition – Part 1

LENSCRATCH 2013 Self-Portrait Exhibition – Part 2

LENSCRATCH 2013 Self-Portrait Exhibition – Part 3

Collections like this make up my lifeblood, I take so much inspiration from other people’s vision.

That’s a fancy-schmancy way of saying that I’m going to straight up steal as many ideas from these as I can.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

