They Paved Paradise And Put Up A Water Park (Part II)

It occurred to me that I hadn’t included some of my favorite shots from the water park development in my last blog post.

I guess they didn’t fit there, because they don’t feel like part of the series.  I did a lot of documentation shots during this time.  That is what I focused on yesterday, but I also did a lot of more stand-alone shots as well.

Honestly, one of my favorite shots.

Bulldozer Sunset, September 11, 2011

Bulldozer Sunset, September 11, 2011

There is just something about large machinery resting in wide open spaces with dramatic lighting that just jump starts something in me.  To this day, it kills me I didn’t get some models out there to pose against those huge earth movers.

I also experimented with light painting out there.

 HOME, September 13, 2011

HOME, September 13, 2011

Tilling The Earth, September 26, 2011

Tilling The Earth, September 26, 2011

Light painting is something that I really need to take up again.  It’s not that I didn’t scratch the surface, it’s that I didn’t even get my hands anywhere near the surface.  Not even close. There is a world of work to be explored here.

I guess what I wanted to say was that there was more about that space than just me schlepping around with a camera documenting “change”.  I was changing out there too.

It all goes back to the desert, it really does.  There is a reason people go to the desert to discover themselves.  Holy men and women throughout the ages have retreated to the desert for prayer, fasting, meditation and contemplation.

There is something about the desert.  There is magic in those places.

And sometimes, if you’re lucky, you can capture a little of it.

Leave a Reply

