May Day Rally For Immigration Reform

May Day Immigration Rally blog 30

Had a great  week last week.  Wednesday, May 1st, was the May Day Rally for Immigration reform.  Las Vegas Blvd. was closed at the Lloyd D. George U.S. Federal Courthouse for a rally and march that included speaker Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid.

I’m a huge fan of rallies.  I am always excited when people come together for a cause.  Well, a worthy cause, I guess.  People came together to destroy Frankenstein’s monster, so there’s that.  I’ve always loved that quote from Men In Black, “A person is smart. People are dumb, panicky dangerous animals and you know it.”  It’s true, often large groups of people don’t really behave all that great.  Especially when they get fired up.  And, yes, I used two fictional scenes to illustrate that point.  Because, we all immediately know the real examples, don’t we.

Immigration reform is something that is close to my heart.  My wife is from another country, and we’ve been through the labyrinthian, soul-sucking bureaucracy that is the U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement Agency twice now.  Long stories both.  But know that, while I was spending this glorious late afternoon snapping away, my heart was with those marching.

I know it’s not too cool to toot your own horn, but I think I did really well here.  I got up close and in your face for a lot of these shots.  I would have never done that a few years ago, but now there is always that voice in my head that says, “Get closer”.   Or, more specifically, “Get closer, moron.”  I’ve learned to follow that advice.  I’m also much more conscious about my point of view.  I’m trying hard to avoid eye level shots.  The live view on my K-01 allows me to raise it up above my head a lot more.  I’m also getting down a lot more.  Like, way down.  I spent a lot of that afternoon kneeling down and shooting upwards.  Often that will give a less cluttered background, especially in a crowed rally.  The downside, though, is that I basically did a couple of hours of lunges.

I was stiff as a board the following day.  My legs were killing me.  I’m getting too old for this.

There were also a lot of challenges with the light, that mix of shade and golden hour sunlight.  It’s here where I feel I’m doing a lot better with my post processing.  I remember when I first got Lightroom, I was moving sliders all over the place, not really knowing a single thing I was going.  Now, it’s almost like I can see through to what I want the final product to look like, and I’m getting more confident about following the roadmap to get there.  This is why we practice.

So, good shots of a great rally for a worthy cause.  And then, on Saturday, I went to go shoot at the car show at the Spring Jamboree at Boulder City.

Rallies and hot rods.  That’s the ingredients for a great week.  For me, at least.

May Day Immigration Rally blog 07

May Day Immigration Rally blog 10

May Day Immigration Rally blog 23

May Day Immigration Rally blog 49

May Day Immigration Rally blog 53

Leave a Reply

