Experiments

American Slipper

When I was in art school, my emphasis was in Drawing and Painting, and my painting style leaned very heavily on Abstract Expressionism.  But, there was also a large part of my work that was also interested in using text within my paintings.  Artists like Barbara Kruger and Jenny Holzer really influenced me, forcing me to think about multiple layers and connections through different visual clues, both words and pictures.  And using words as pictures.

Seeing is believing

When I started getting into photography, I almost immediately began taking pictures of street signs, urban scenes and gritty cityscapes.  Subject matter far removed from my usual forays into abstraction and non-objective painting.  Because, honestly, that stuff fascinates me.  I grew up in suburbia and I’ve spent my life trying to understand it, quantify it, depict it.  And try to make it interesting to other people.  And, try to make it beautiful to other people.

So, I’ve been happy to have my photography stick to depicting straight realism.  Every once in a while, however, I do get my artsy-fartsy groove on.

I don’t pursue it as much as I would like to because, frankly, I’m pretty hard on myself, and a lot of the time these simply just don’t work.  But, then, that’s art isn’t it.  We keep sketchbooks for a reason, to work out things before you really commit to them.  And, also, a lot of the time these simply just don’t work.  It’s an extremely fine line between expressing something profound in art, and just being obtuse.  Or being clever simply for the sake of being clever.  Art is complicated.  I have a love/hate relationship with it.

I thought I would share some of my experiments.  These are the ones that made the cut, the ones I allow to see the light of day.  I’m actually kinda proud of these, if I’m honest.  Especially the Cadillac/Holiday Motel mash-up, I think that’s could easily be the cover of a dime store pulp-fiction novel.  What happens in Vegas, is usually a lot better in a red Cadillac convertible and a cheap motel.

Holiday Motel HDR

The Mind Is A Perfect Prison

Leave a Reply

