Random Thoughts

I haven’t done a blog post since September.  There really isn’t one large issue I’d like to speak to right now, so I thought I would just do a quick fire round of several things that have been on my mind.

1) Henderson Super Run

1958 ChevyIn my mind this years Super Run was a total, unabashed, unqualified success. I am so excited with the quality of pictures that came from this show.  I really tried to step up my game with these shots. There were multiple things I tried to keep in mind during the show.  First, I’m really trying to find connections between cars at shows like this.  So, rather than just shoot one car, I’m trying to find relationships between multiple cars.  I think that is helping make my shots far stronger.

Also, I’ve been working to construct stronger compositions, and trying to find non-obvious ways to make the shot.  Trying to be more creative, rather than merely taking the same boring shots everyone else does.  I was also much more conscious of my position in relation to the reflective surfaces. I really tried to avoid making any of those unintentional self-portraits.

I believe a large part of this success was that I got there well before the sun came up to make sure that nobody else was there.  Being able to walk around the cars freely and unobstructed was glorious.  I got some great morning light, which also made a large difference.  And, lastly, I’ve been really focused on doing a lot more work in post, and that is really on show here as well.

Here is the full set on my flickr page: 2013 Henderson Super Run

And I can never say this enough, but I’m really only as good as the cars I shoot, and the quality of cars this time was fantastic.  Look at the 1958 Chevy, just look at it!

2) Published!

If you didn’t know already, one of my photographs was published in the October 2013 issue of the Zappos Employee Newsletter. Curtis Joe Walker, the owner of Photo Bang Bang in downtown Las Vegas put up my shot of his studio and his choice ’59 Ford Fairlane for their article.

Downtown ZEN

It’s always such a thrill to see your work in real life, either printed out and displayed on a wall, or published in a book or magazine.  I’m dead chuffed about this, you have no idea!  And here’s the original image:

1959 Ford Fairlane

And, hopefully you’ll see this image again soon.  Which brings me to…

3) My 3rd Blurb Book

I’m working on my third Blurb book, and my final one for a while.  This will focus exclusively on my automotive and motorcycle photography.  I’m really struggling with a title right now, so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I’m looking to break format with my two previous books.  For both my previous Blurb books, I chose a real classic, formal layout.  One photograph on each page, same sized borders, very “art book”.  For my North Dakota book, I chose this way because, frankly, I was scared I would screw it up so I wanted to limit the variables.  For my Las Vegas book, I felt like that was a very formal, serious work, something I poured my heart and soul into, and I needed the minimalist design choices to allow the photographs more space to tell their story.

For this one, while I’m not going totally CRAAAZY, I will be loosening up the format, experimenting with multiple images on a page, adding more text, trying to make it a bit more fun.  Also, full disclosure here, there will be some cross content between the two previous books.  Basically, I know pretty much nobody is going to buy my North Dakota book, but there are a couple of really fantastic car shots there, so I will definitely be including them in this book, which hopefully will have a much larger appeal.

My plan is for this to be available in time for this upcoming holiday season.  It’ll be a great gift idea!!  I’ll keep you posted.  In the meantime, please make sure to check out my two previous Blurb books here:

My Blurb Bookstore

4) Facebook

I’m up to almost 1,000 likes on my facebook page, which is very exciting.

Seriously, you need to be checking my facebook page daily.  I do post regularly on my flickr and 500px pages, but it’s really my facebook page where it’s all happening.  Come join the discussion!

I’ve been getting a lot of support from a lot of great people who have promoted my page, but I need to say a big Thank You especially to the King Daddy Caddy – Cadillac Of The Day page, and Mother Road Route 66 page, both of which have prominently featured Generator Photography. I will continue to be thankful for all the support you’ve given me.

5) Thank you

And, finally, thank you, gentle reader, for your support.  For this blog, for all my pages, for joining me on this journey.  This would all be nothing without your encouragement and inspiration.  Generator Photography has done nothing but go from strength to strength lately, and I hope you all stick around because, I promise you, even better stuff is coming.  I’m genuinely excited to see what is coming down the road.

Until next time, stay safe, stay classy and stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

