2014 – The Plan

The Road

I said I started 2013 with no business plan and and only a few vaguely defined goals.

I’m starting 2014 with a small business plan and some slightly more defined goals.

I know that sounds a bit flippant, but I assure you that what seems written as a small leap is truly a serious matter for me.

Full disclosure: I started Generator Photography last year fully expecting to fail.  I never expected that I would be able to continue to consistently produce interesting content, to gather an audience for my work, and to maintain all the different levels of involvement I started on social media.  There are many reasons for this.  Mainly, I have a debilitatingly low self-esteem.  I haven’t divulged too much about myself personally in the last year, and there are good reasons for that.  But just know this – I second guess myself at every turn.  With every decision.  Sometimes I wonder how I get up in the morning.  It’s something I’ve been dealing with for a very long time.  So, when I finally made the decision to seriously concentrate on my photography, to really make a go of it, my thought process was, “I’ll do everything I can to make this work, and when it doesn’t work, when nobody likes my work, when I have nothing to show for many months of labor, I can just say to myself, ‘Well, at least I tried’, and then move on.”  Seriously, that’s how I think.  I’m pretty messed up.

Well, it looks like I failed in failing.  I don’t know how I feel about that, lol.

As I explained in my previous post, Generator Photography has done nothing but go from strength to strength over the past year.  Truly, if anyone told me the viewing numbers I have, or the quality of work I’d be doing at the beginning of 2014, I would never have believed them.  But, here we are.

And, more than I’ll that, I’m actually excited.  I’m thrilled to find out what this coming year has in store.  I’m gaining confidence, and I’m very encouraged about the positive feedback I’m getting.  The downside is, there’s no wussing out now.  All in, at this point.  When you have no plan, it’s easy to back away.  When you put it out there, and don’t deliver, that’s when it gets ugly.  So, let’s get to it:

Get known: This means more than getting followers on facebook (or twitter, see below), it means really establish my brand as a premier automotive photographer.  I have been dancing around the issue because I truly love doing other types of photography, specifically my urban and suburban landscape work.  And there’s a part of me that doesn’t want to get “weighed down with labels”, or some other hippy-sounding, pseudo-marketing bullcrap.  However, I really need to just bite the bullet and say, “I shoot cars, this is what I do.”  Obviously, with the caveat, “And I’m really good at it.”

Get portraits:  I understand that I just wrote about clearly defining my identity as an automotive photographer, but I would really love to start including people in my work.  Some of my favorite shots I’ve ever done have been about people.  It’s a challenge for my artistic side of the brain, and it will help me learn and develop techniques that I can carry over into my automotive photography.  If you want me to take your picture, let me know.  Seriously.

Get legit: I would like to get a proper business license.  Be, like, all official and stuff.

Get twitter: I love the action I’m getting on facebook, but I just can’t help but think that more and more of my posts are getting lost in the facebook algorithm tap-dance.  And as facebook continues to push for people to pay for posts, I really think I need to expand my social media presence.  I’ll try to get this up and running in the next month or so.

Get blogging:  Do shorter blogs, and more of them.  I tend to do long winded blogs every once in a while.  I’m going to try to do far less writing but much more often.

Get interesting projects:  I want to shoot with more purpose.  I like doing projects, many shots on one theme or idea.  I have this great idea about garages.  Stay tuned.

Get gear:  I got full-frame fever, friends.  I’ve been talked out of it a couple of times, and I honestly don’t think this is the year I’ll get a true upgrade in terms of my camera.  But it’s coming.  At best, I see myself maybe ponying up for the new Pentax K-3, which everyone says is an outstanding piece of kit.  We’ll see.  But for now, I’m just getting a 21mm lens to round out my move to prime lenses only, I’m upgrading my software (new versions of Photoshop Elements and Lightroom) and maybe a flash.  I would love to start doing strobist stuff.  Especially if I want to start doing portraits.

Get selling:  Really ramp up my Etsy shop.  And maybe even start selling prints through my main website.

Get paid:  I love shooting, I really truly do.  And if this goes nowhere other than being a hobby for me, I’m totally OK with this.  Nothing is going to stop me doing what I do.  However, man it would be nice to get a paying gig every once in a while.

And, we’ll, that’s all for now.

Seriously, I’m excited!  Thanks for reading all the way to the end, I truly appreciate it!

4 thoughts on “2014 – The Plan

  1. Glen, love your open struggle. It sounds like you need to be where the cars are, and those that would like to have shots of them done.
    I know in so cal at the fair plex in Pomona they still have the Porsche, vw, and pre 70’s car swap like monthly. You must have something local like it.

  2. If you have to fail, failing at failing is the way to go.

    Your car photos are my favorites of the ones you do, but even if you concentrate on them, you should still keep doing other pics as well, since I am sure you learn something every time you take a picture, and the more diverse the pictures, the more you will learn.

  3. Pingback: I’m A Twit | Generator Photography

  4. Pingback: 2015 – The Plan In Review | Generator Photography

Leave a Reply

