My Etsy Store – Updated

1957-Chevy-b&w-Etsy

Just a quick update on my Etsy store, if you haven’t already heard.

I’ve just added six new 8 x 10 prints, bringing the total to seven.  My plan is to have 12 for sale by June, hopefully around 20 different prints up by the end of the year.  It’s ambitious, but totally doable.

At some point I’d like to offer even larger prints, 16 x 20 or even larger maybe.  We’ll see.

I would like to recap what I first wrote about my Etsy store back at the end of November of last year; ”

“And, I guess the final why question, why sell prints at all? Well, gentle reader, there are a load of answers for that one. First, and most obvious, is that I gotta start making some money off this. I love what I do, don’t get me wrong, and I love the support and positive feedback I get. But I have big plans for Generator Photography, and gear ain’t free. Printers ain’t free. Decent gallery space ain’t free.

“The other answer to this question, however, is not about money. At all. It’s a bit bigger than that. I like making things. I love putting up my work to show. I like being an artist. I love making art. Doing this gets me back to my roots, while also moving along this business. It’s not the final step, but it’s another step. It’s about me continuing to serious about my work, and about fulfilling my desire for creation.”

While that first point is still important, I would like to eventually see some green some my way rather than keep seeing it walk out the door, I want to focus on that second point.

The more I think about doing this, the more I really am satisfied about how it really connects to why I originally got into art in the first place.  My plan from the very beginning was to sell paintings, prints and put on exhibitions.  That was the goal.  That is what I knew I was good at.  That is what I wanted to do, more than anything else.

I’ve just swapped oil paints for megapixels.

I am so happy how the prints (eventually) came out.  And I’m excited to not only offer automotive shots, but also more of my urban and suburban landscape photography.  I have been looking over my shots for the past year, even longer, and I see a lot of potential candidates at every turn.  I’ll keep you posted.

And if you see anything you would like to see me turn into a print, please let me know, I’m always open to suggestions!

As for now, please check out the store.  It’s still small, but it’s just getting started.

 

Leave a Reply

