And Then There Was The Time I Showed A Picture Of A Dumpster At An Art Exhibition

You see, if you’re reading this, you are probably here because of my automotive photography.  Which is cool.  And it’s going great.  And I’m really happy with the work that
I’m producing and I’m excited about what the future holds.

But, I just want to let you know that there is a chance that I won’t be shooting cars forever.  Or, at least not exclusively.  It’s a change that is not happening immediately, or even in the near future.  It could be several years down the road, in fact.   I’m just letting you know.

I actually have spent a majority of the last few years doing what I called Urban and Suburban Landscape photography.  It’s basically my own take on traditional cityscape shots.  I like doing the suburban landscapes, I think that suburbia is a place of untold beauty within the banality.  There are wonderful elements just waiting to be explored within so many places that people automatically write-off as ugly and soulless.

Look at this picture, called “Suburban Mailbox At Night”.

Suburban Mailbox

Totally love this shot.  So many great lines and shadows.

So, that’s what I used to do.  In my previous blog post I explained why I’m shooting (mostly) cars now.  And, again, I’m excited about it.  In fact, it’s become a bit of an obsession.  I really do try to go back to doing this stuff, but somehow I end up seeing a cool car parked on the street and, well, I just have to photograph it.

That said, I am starting to feel that pull.  I was driving through a light industrial warehouse district recently (don’t ask) and I swear I wanted to pull over and photograph everything.

Like I used to do.   I worked for over a year in a similar complex and I got some great stuff.  Like the above shot, there are a lot of great lines and harsh shadows to be had.  Going into a place that you normally wouldn’t consider photogenic is wonderful way to train your eye and develop your sense of composition. Consider this shot.

Dumpster

Funny story about this picture: A few summers ago I had the opportunity to show my photography at a gallery downtown during the monthly First Friday arts event.  This is one of the pictures I showed, mostly because I think it’s interesting, and a strong piece.  But, more importantly, I really like it.  I dig all the repeating geometric shapes within the frame.  However, you should have seen the reaction to it.  I might as well have shown a picture of Hitler kicking a puppy.  Actually, that might have been more well received because artsy people would have interpreted that as being ironic and how it displayed a wry sense of irony, and was a complex, pop-culture metaphor for man’s inhumanity against nature.  Or, you know, something.

But, hey, I dig it.  The dumpster, not Hitler kicking puppies.

And, at the end of the day, I need to be comfortable with what I’m creating.  I love the “likes” I’m getting on my facebook feed, I’m excited about the view count I’m racking up on flickr, but ultimately I have to do what I love, and what I’m passionate about.  And all I’m saying is that will not always be automotive photography.

I know this sounds pretentious and simplistic and snooty, but before I’m a “photographer”, I am an artist.  And, as such, I need to follow my vision.  And Generator Photography is about Photography first, and automobiles second.

I just want to make sure that I’m not leading you on.  It’s not you, it’s me.  I’m just in a really weird place right now.

Leave a Reply

