Summertime Sadness

I’ve got that Summertime Sadness.

There’s a couple of things happening right now.

First and foremost, I will remind you that my father passed away in April.  My mom passed away in Oct, 2011, so now both parents are gone.  Even at 45 years old and many years after fleeing the nest, that’s still a tough one.  Especially since I never had a great relationship with my family to start with. Any opportunity for closure, whatever the hell that is, has slipped away.  But, I have been tasked with handling the estate, closing out accounts, etc., so that’s where a good amount of my focus and effort has gone this summer.

Unfortunately, that means I have put my photography 2nd.  Well, not unfortunately, family comes first.  Always.  But I haven’t been as active as I would have liked to have been.  I want to say that making art makes me happy, which is true.  But it’s more than that.  Making art is part of who I am.  It is a natural outpouring of expression for me.  When that gets put on the back burner, I get frustrated.  And antsy.  And a little sad.

Another thing is that summer in Vegas is not usually the time people schedule outdoor activities.  There are still things happening, don’t get me wrong, but everything is scaled back a bit, and because I have other commitments at this time (see above), my shooting schedule isn’t as free as I would like it to be.  Instead of having over a half dozen events to choose from, I’ve got two, and if I can’t make those, I’m boned.

I’m not complaining, you understand.  I just want to let you know why you might have seen a dip in my output lately.  I haven’t given up, I don’t have any creative block, I haven’t run out of things to say or do.  Far from it.  Time, at this time, is at a premium, and I’m making careful choices with my limited resources.

On that note, I have been taking some hard looks at what I’m currently doing, and how I’m doing it.  I have decided to cancel my 500px subscription, and focus on my flickr page being my one stop shop for posting my full size work on the interwebs. I’m just not seeing any forward motion in my contacts or promotion with 500px, not like I’m seeing with facebook or flickr.  Or twitter, which is what I really want to start focusing on.  For me, my twitter account is a huge untapped resource, and if you aren’t following me on twitter, you bloody well should be.

Dropping 500px is sort of a drag, though, because I’ve always espoused how my pictures look AMAZEBALLS on that site.  I don’t know whats in the sauce over there, but it’s glorious.  So, if you wanted to see my work in its full amazeballs glory, catch it before it goes.

The sadness will all blow over eventually.  Hopefully by this fall, I will have my parents estate all put to bed, the oven heat of summer will begin to lose it’s fight against the coming autumnal breeze, and shows and events will begin to ramp up.

And I’ll get back to work.

“It has been said, ‘time heals all wounds.’ I do not agree. The wounds remain. In time, the mind, protecting its sanity, covers them with scar tissue and the pain lessens. But it is never gone.” – Rose Kennedy

 

Leave a Reply

