My New Favorite Photograph (revisted), Donkey’s Balls, And Why I Now Have A Tumblr Account

88

There is no feeling in the world like seeing your artwork finished, presented and properly displayed.  It’s such a rush.  It is such a huge part of what we do as artists.  I’ve said this before, and I’ll say it again here, if you are a photographer and all you do is process and post pictures online without printing and showing your work in the real world, you are missing out on a huge part of what makes being an artist so mind-blowingly wonderful.

I’ve written before about this specific piece, about how it was my new favorite photograph and how I would love to see it printed large.  This is just 10 x 13, matted and put in a 16 x 20 frame.  It looks great, no question, but it needs to be larger.  Much larger.

I honestly have no idea why this piece has such a hold on me, but it does.

The other thing it has done to me is make me re-evaluate a lot of my printing choices.

I have put my logo, or a variation of Generator Photography, on most of my prints.

 

Silver-Streak---PRINT-FINAL-facebook

I think this might have been a mistake.  There was a practical reason for doing this, I thought 8 x 10 prints would sell more than 6 x 10 prints, which is the crop ratio of most of my work.  And, I thought I needed to do something, anything, with that extra space.  And in my zeal to built my “brand”, I think I sacrificed the overall quality of the art at the alter of marketing.

Another mistake I made was adding that white border to every print.  They look somewhat cool on the computer, but trying to mount one in a proper 8 x 10 frame without it being crooked is a nightmare.

In this upcoming year, I think I will be making some changes.  I want to re-evaluate and probably redo every print that I have up for sale.  Actually, what I might do is just go all in and make all the pictures on my main webpage available for people to order as prints.

I’ve had my reasons for not making them available, and all those reasons suck donkey’s balls.  I’m an idiot.  And I need to trust that people who like my work are going to make far better choices than I will, and I need to let them be free to make those decisions.

Just quickly on some more immediate changes: I’m dropping my 500px account and adding a Tumblr account.  I just don’t feel like I’m getting anywhere on 500px.  I’m not getting any decent feedback on my work, nor am I reaching any people who will impact my art, or my business, in any way.  I’m duplicating work that I’m already doing on my flickr account, and I’m getting nothing in return.  So, double work + no benefit = Stupid.  So, enjoy my pics on 500px now, before I nuke the account.

In return, I’ve added a Tumblr account.  The deal with Tumblr is that several of my shots have already been circulating Tumblr for a long time without my watermark and without any credit to me.  So, I thought, if you can’t beat ’em, join ’em.  I’ve posted some older shot, popular shots, some newer shots.  I’ve finally got a theme that I really like and, if I’m honest, I really like how the whole thing looks.  I’ve got a theme where the pictures are big and clear, and uncluttered.  It’s how my prints should have been.

Plus 500px is so serious.  Tumblr is kind of fun.  And God knows I could use a little more fun in my life right now.

I always knew this whole process would be a journey.  I’m not embarrassed about the mistakes I’ve made.  And I’m sure for every mistake I admit to there are two dozen mistakes I can’t even see.  But, I am a firm believer that in order to make the right choices, you must learn from your wrong choices.

And sometimes the obstacle is the path.

2 thoughts on “My New Favorite Photograph (revisted), Donkey’s Balls, And Why I Now Have A Tumblr Account

Leave a Reply

