Color

Orange

Nikon D610 | Nikkor 50mm f/1.4G | f/2.2 | 1/400 | ISO 100 | October, 2014

I’ve been thinking a lot about color recently. If you know me at all, you know I am smack dab in the middle of making an excruciating decision: Canon 6D or Nikon D610.

Here’s a blog post that gives more history about the how I came to this point.

I love soliciting advice from people who have either. And, I got some interesting advice from someone who switched from Nikon to Canon, they told me “Pay attention to the colors.
I always felt like I had to tweak colors too much, especially skin tones.”

I have noticed that the colors with the Nikon are strange. Not wrong, mind you. It’s difficult to explain. When I processed the pics taken with the 6D, I didn’t even think about the colors. I just adjusted the white balance and that was about it. The colors were just there. They looked fine.

Looking back at them now, they seem a tad over saturated, but that could have been me.

The colors on the D610 seem a tad under saturated. Muted, even. Again, not wrong, just not quite there. See, I never doubted the colors on the Canon, not like this.

But, again, looking back on my Canon, shots, maybe I didn’t doubt them because they are the colors I expected to see. Not actually the colors that were there. What if the Nikon is actually giving me more accurate colors but they are giving me pause because I’m used to sugary-bright Canon colors?

How do we even determine what colors we see anyway? We have all these sliders and filters and processes we put our files through before we say they are finished? And what about monitor calibration? What about how ambient light effects our workflow?

It’s a pickle. No question, it’s a pickle.

Leave a Reply

