Happy Thanksgiving (See You In December)

sunset

I mentioned this on my facebook page, but I just wanted to mention it again, I will be taking off the week of Thanksgiving.  Starting now, actually.

Growing up we would always celebrate Thanksgiving by going to my grandmother’s house in Lancaster, California, the high desert near Edwards AFB. It was there my love for the desert began.  And I learned that I didn’t do really well with crowds of people.  I would always say the wrong thing somehow, something stupid.  Then I would excuse myself and go outside and watch the sunset.  There is nothing on this earth more beautiful that the desert sunset, nothing.

I’ve been in a reflective mood lately.  I actually tweeted that I had lost all motivation.  That’s true.  It’s been a difficult year.  I was hoping it would have calmed down some by now.  And, I guess it has, but not enough.  I’m still distracted.

This year we will be visiting friends for Thanksgiving.  I’m really looking forward to it.  And then, hopefully, Black Friday (or Cyber Monday) will roll around and the wait for my new gear will be over.  I’ve always said that gear doesn’t really matter.  But I wonder if that’s true.  A good mechanic certainly can fix a car with a small set of old Craftsman tools, but how much easier would it be for him with a comprehensive set of Snap-On tools.

What is a camera, but a tool to create?  I, for one, cannot wait to start using better tools.

On top of saying that I am taking Thanksgiving week off, I just wanted to share what I’m thankful for.

I have much to be thankful for on a personal level, and I’ll make sure those around me know how much they mean to me.  But, another thing I’m thankful for is everyone who has supported me on this journey.  I feel like I say the same thing every time, but that’s only because I cannot say anything else.  You are the reason I continue to work as hard as I do, that I am able to push through when every sane voice I hear tells me to quit.  Your encouragement, your support, your kind words are the fuel that keeps me burning.  Every like on facebook, every retweet on twitter, every share on tumblr, every positive comment on flickr all contribute to Generator Photography moving forward.

Thank you, everyone.

2014 has been a hell of a year.  I have reached some goals, exceeded a few, completely failed on most.  But it’s been a tremendous learning experience.  I think I’ll stop making promises for 2015.  We’ll see.

If you are reading this from a country that doesn’t celebrate that uniquely American holiday of Thanksgiving, I’ll just say that I’ll see you in December.  For my Star Spangled Brother and Sisters, have a great holiday.  I hope you have great food and even better fellowship.

sunset 1

One thought on “Happy Thanksgiving (See You In December)

Leave a Reply

