Post-Christmas Potpourri

Santa Clause 4

I hope everyone had a Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkah, Joyous Kwanzaa, Fun Festivus, and in general had an all around good holiday season.

Here are some random musings and updates.

I’m still loving my Nikon D610.  Every day I’m learning more about the settings, menus, capabilities of this beast.  My gear acquisition list is now as follows:

1) Nikkor 85mm f1.8G.  That will complete my old school 35/50/85 prime lens trifecta.  If I get any more lenses, I would like something very wide, maybe like a 17-35mm zoom, then a quality 135mm lens for really proper portraits, and then maybe a 60mm or 100mm macro lens.  I loved the macro stuff I did with my K-01, and I would dig picking up macro-photography again with my Nikon.  But, all that is way in the future.  Except the 85mm, that’s in the next month or so.  Hopefully.

2) Flash.  I’ve got my eyes on a Nikon SB-700 Speedlight for right now, with some modifiers, and hell, even a stand and umbrella.  Strobist on a budget, here I come.

Believe it or not, that’s actually it for right now.  I’m in a good place with my gear.  Moving on.

I’ve joined Model Mayhem.  I’ve said I wanted to shoot more people/portraits, so I’m putting myself out there.  Until I get the 85mm lens, I won’t be announcing myself too loudly, but just signing up is a start.  And looking around.  There are some really awful photographers out there.  And some frighteningly good ones.  Browsing MM is like a roller coaster of emotions going from, “Hell yeah, I can do way better than that” to “Oh, wow, I’ll never be able to do that.”  It’s quite fun, actually.

I’ve been shooting a lot more of my urban and suburban landscape lately.  It has been great to get back to that style.

Downtown Zumba Party 4

I also got a chance to hang out on the Strip and do some pseudo-“street” photography.Audience blogI tried it before with my K-01, but to be honest the auto-focus was so depressingly slow that I ended up missing far more shots than I got.  With the Nikon, it’s like going from a Nissan Cube to a Ford Mustang.  Understand, it’s still not a Ferrari, at least in terms of auto-focus speed, but it’s far better than I’ve had.  So, hopefully, more stuff like this.

That said, I do miss shooting cars.  It really is in my DNA.  I can’t wait for the new year when shows start ramping up again.  I’ve also got a couple of shoots planned out in my head, I need to start getting back on the phones and making things happen, again.

I’ve started spending more time on 4Chan’s /p/ board, their photography board. I’ve said it before, it’s my favorite photography forum on the web.  If you don’t know about 4Chan, then don’t worry.  It’s a bad, nasty place and you shouldn’t go there.

Lastly, I didn’t get out to shoot hardly any Christmas lights again this year.  That’s two years running now.   It’s a huge drag.  I’ll never get that series finished.  I have also not shot any film in a few months, either.  Another thing to put on the to-do list for next year.

Anyway, that’s a bit of an update for you.  Have a safe and happy New Years, and we’ll see you in 2015!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

