My Nikon Saga

I miss my D610.   I’ve been without it for over a week now and I’m getting separation anxiety.  Or the blues.  Or both.  Here’s the full story from the very beginning.

I bought this camera from Samy’s Camera in L.A. on Black Friday. It was a total impulse buy.  I was supposed to wait and order it online, but we were cruising in L.A., hanging out with some friends, and it just happened.  L.A. works your impulses like that, you learn to roll with it.

I also bought a 50mm f/1.4G and a few days later bought a 35mm f2.0D from B&H.

D610 blog

I was over the moon. I shot with it constantly and it had been fantastic. No problems at all until the 8th of January.

A friend came into town who is also a Nikon shooter, and we went down to Fremont Street. I only brought my 35mm because he had a 20mm and a lensbaby tilt shift that he wanted me to try. We spent a few hours walking around, and throughout the night I swapped out all three lenses at different points with no trouble. The camera performed flawlessly. Eventually, we ended up at Atomic Liquors at the edge of the East Fremont District.

Atomic Liquors

I mean, look at that. I fell in love with that 20mm lens. I swapped back and forth inside the bar, and eventually asked for my 35mm back because I wanted to take a picture of the very suave bartender inside. I noticed the shots I got were blurry, but at the time I just assumed it was because it was too dark.

But what had happened was the autofocus stopped.  I mean, it just flat stopped.

I thought it might be the lens, so when I came home I immediately tried my AF-S 50mm, but no autofocus with that either.  Neither the camera nor the lenses were dropped, or bumped, and all the swapping happened in relatively mild temperatures and no wind.

When I pressed the AF/M button to switch the autofocus from Auto to the other autofocus modes, nothing came up on the control panel. Even the autofocus assist light didn’t come on. It was like the autofocus simply vanished from the camera.

I toggled the AF/M switch from Auto to Manual, I checked the contacts on my lenses, I even did the two-button full-camera reset about three times, and still nothing.

Everything else was fine, it still took pictures, and all the shooting modes seem to be ok. But because I’m old and my eyes aren’t that great, I really need my autofocus. That, and I only had it for just over 40 days!

I began posting my autofocus issue on some Nikon boards but I still got nothing. Did I just got a bad unit? Who knows. It’s a drag, but stuff happens. Especially with electronics.

So, I made sure my camera was all cozy snug in a sea of bubble wrap and sent it back to Nikon. Sweet dreams, my D610, we’ll see you on the other side.

In the meantime, I couldn’t be without a camera. You understand, right? Photography, man. I don’t want to belittle other people’s experiences by referring to photography as an addiction, but the creative process does grab you and hold you, tight, like a hungry python ever increasing its slithery grip on your soul.

I still had my Pentax K-01, but my plan had always been to to sell my Pentax gear to fund a DX Nikon as a 2nd body, thus fully making the switch over. I frantically put that plan into motion, and with some juggling of budgets, I quickly scraped up enough scratch to finance a new Nikon D5300.

1948 Chevy

Which has been good. I guess. If I’m deathly honest, I feel it’s just a push with the image quality. Which just confirms how awesome that K-01 was. I’m telling you, Pentax is such a criminally underrated camera manufacturer. I know the K-3 is the best APS-C camera on the market right now and if I wasn’t so hell-bent on going full frame, I would have just bought myself a K-3 and been happy.

Who knows, with the D600 issues, the D750 light leak issue, some problems with the D8xx (I forgot which one), if Nikon doesn’t start getting their shit together, I just might go back.

Or, I’ll get my camera back and all will be forgiven, and it will be like this whole episode never happened.

We’ll see.

One thought on “My Nikon Saga

  1. Pingback: The Burden Of Quality Control | Generator Photography

Leave a Reply

