Hiatus

stars

Family matters.

Even though I’ve never really gotten along too well with my own family, I’ve tried to make sure to never put work in front of family.

Mrs Generator feels the same way. In the past days her dad was rushed back into hospital after only being released from the same hospital last Friday. He broke his hip only a little while ago, and it’s been downhill since. That’s what happened with my dad only two years ago, now it looks like it’s happening again.

Mrs. Generator will be leaving on Friday to go back to her home country of England to care for him. We would greatly appreciate your thoughts, prayers and positive vibes for her as this will be a difficult journey, both physically and emotionally.

As I said, I was in this exact same spot before, only two years ago.  At that time, I knew that I had to make my family the center of my attention, and put my photography 2nd.  That is what needs to happen again.

This is to say that I’ll be taking a bit of a hiatus for the coming month or months.  With my wife away, obviously I need to step up and take on her responsibilities.  I normally do my photography in my free time, which will be a little less for a little while.  Also, I’m sure I’ll be more distracted than focused, which seldom is good when talking about the creative process.

However, know that Generator Photography will not be going completely dark in the coming months, though.  There are three things I want to work on if and when I can get the time.

First is the Las Vegas Balloon Festival.  It is literally a short walk from my house.  As well, for the past few months I’ve been thinking about doing an experiment.  Most photographers like to break out the wide angle lenses, try to get the full size and scope of all those balloons going into the air. I’m as guilty of that as the next person. This time, I want to shoot the balloon festival with only my 85mm lens.  Really try to focus on color and composition rather than merely documentation.  Try to get more experimental.

Second thing I want to try and work on is more of the light painting, like the one above.  I’ve got some ideas that I may or may not get to, we’ll see.

I would also like to finish up the shots from the Fallback show.  They are coming out great, even if I do say so myself.

Lastly, there is one photoshoot I’ve tentatively scheduled for mid-November which I will try to keep, as it’s something I’ve been chasing for a while, and I don’t really want to let it go.

But, as it goes with these times in life, it all depends.

So, there is it.  Look for my output to be greatly reduced for the time being, but hopefully I will still keep posting from time to time.  And, whatever happens, we’ll get back to that place where we want to be, I’m sure of it.

And always remember to hug the ones you love, and tell them how much you love them.

“Life is a flash of lightning in the dark of night. It is a brief time of tremendous potential.” – B. Alan Wallace

Leave a Reply

