And We Are Stopped, Again.

Danay 05 _sm

The last photoshoot.

I’ve been mulling over the blog post for a while.  I’d like to think I was crafting it in my head before committing it to paper, but the reality is I’ve just been putting it off.

Now is the time to get it done.  Here’s the scoop, I’m putting down the camera for a while.

Over the last five years I’ve had an office job.  I have a Bachelors Degree in Art, and a few semesters of Master’s level work in Theology.  I have a resume that screams, “No Marketable Skills.”  Most of my practical job experience has been in office work.  I’m an Excel Spreadsheet Master, I ain’t even lying.

This last job, however, took a toll.  I had been promoted to a Supervisor position, which started out good, but ended up with me just being the guy customers yell at. Daily.

For various reasons, I decided to make a change.  I won’t go into the details here, but there really wasn’t one reason.  My mistake came in jumping into the first job that was offered to me.  It was a disaster, I lasted two weeks.

So there I am, sitting at my computer, browsing Monster.com, looking for another soul sucking, mind-numbing cubical job.  I then remembered an NPR story about a truck driver shortage. I immediately started doing a little research on trucking, and truck driving.  Somehow I ended up on YouTube, and spent the entire rest of the day looking at videos of truckers.  GoPro video blogs of life on the road.  The entire day was spent watching those.

The short story is that I’m now in CDL school to get my Class A license, and then go drive.

Movin On

(not my photo!)

When I was growing up, there was a TV show called Movin’ On. It starred Claude Akins and some other dude driving a two-tone green Kenworth across America. I loved that truck. It’s corny and hokey and a bit cliché, but I’ve always wanted to be a truck driver.

I’m not saying that I’ve finally found what I was meant to do. This won’t be the magic bullet that will cure my occupational wanderlust. But after decades of bookkeeping and office administration work, I am looking forward to a change.

Yes, I understand the work is hard, much harder than what I’m probably used to. I envision old time truckers looking at me they way Robert Shaw looked at Richard Dreyfuss in Jaws (“You have city hands, Mr. Hooper. You been countin’ money all your life.”) That’s a good thing. I’m at my best when people underestimate me.

What about my photography?  It’s on hold.  Actually, I don’t even want to say it’s on hold, but I do know my productivity is going to be down for a while.

The top photograph is the wonderful Danay.  You may remember her from a shoot I did back in December. I dragged her out into the cold winter night so I could experiment with different light set-ups.  She was a trooper, and I promised her a proper photoshoot when the weather got warmer.  I was able to finally fulfill that promise.

It was the last photoshoot.  For a while, anyway.

I’ve got more I want to write about where my photography is right now, where it’s going, and why this won’t necessarily be a bad thing.

We’ll see how long it takes me to write that one.

As for now, wish me luck on my tests, and don’t go very far. I plan to still post stuff periodically.

Keep on Truckin’, Generation Nation!

 

 

Leave a Reply

